Tag Archives: commercial

ElyseBear Photography & Art Designs

Creative Market: https://creativemarket.com/ElyseBear
Etsy: https://www.etsy.com/shop/ElyseBear?ref=l2-shopheader-name

While this isn’t a photographer per se but I am listing it because this woman has been stealing photographer’s images for her company since 2015.  She has never asked permission and very rarely credits.  Often her own watermark is over the image.

You may want to take a glance at the actual overlays themselves if you shoot skies or any of the things she sells.  Many of those may also be stolen but sourcing is a bit trickier – especially with anything sky related.

Update @ 4:15PM EST:

The Creative Market site has been taken down.  Here’s hoping the Etsy shop follows.

Continue reading “ElyseBear Photography & Art Designs” »

Kliq This in New York City, NY

Instagram: https://instagram.com/kliqthisstudio/
Website: http://kliqthis.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Kliqthis?fref=ts&hc_location=ufi

There are dozens (hundreds?) of images I didn’t end up sourcing.  This is just the tip of the iceberg.

Update 10/8/15 @ 2PM – He’s taken down his Facebook and is cleaning up his Instagram.  Here is a PDF of his Instagram before he took it down.

Continue reading “Kliq This in New York City, NY” »

Denise’s Visions aka Denise Moore Photography Studio in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Website 1: http://www.denisevisions.com/
Website 2: http://danlongreen.wix.com/weddings
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DenisesVisions/timeline
Craigslist 1: http://pittsburgh.craigslist.org/crs/4847832475.html
Craigslist 2: http://charlottesville.craigslist.org/crs/4804619032.html
Craigslist 3: http://pittsburgh.craigslist.org/crs/4844902539.html
Craigslist 4: http://pittsburgh.craigslist.org/crs/4834214345.html
Craigslist 5: http://pittsburgh.craigslist.org/crs/4857449813.html
Craigslist 6: http://pittsburgh.craigslist.org/crs/4833322265.html
Craigslist 7: http://pittsburgh.craigslist.org/crs/4838323858.html
Craigslist 8: https://pittsburgh.craigslist.org/bfs/4873741890.html
Craigslist 9: http://pittsburgh.es.craigslist.org/crs/4813229411.html
Thumbtack: http://www.thumbtack.com/pa/pittsburgh/photographers/photography-denise-moore-photography
Craigslist 10: https://pittsburgh.craigslist.org/crs/4901070877.html
Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/denisevisions/

I’m back from PPA and slept off the conventionitis. It was a great show and I highly recommend it to all photographers… when the hotel doesn’t have a norovirus outbreak.  Seriously though, it’s a great group of people that are serious about the industry and care a lot about it.  Make it a must-do if you’re in the US!

This photographer mostly uses stock images which I won’t be listing since I’m unsure which came with the WIX website.  However there are quite a few that are not stock and those are below.

There are numerous craigslist ads, I won’t be sourcing them all as the images that aren’t stock are sourced w/ the website and Facebook posts.  I cut it off at 9 but there’s a lot more listings out there.

Update 2/9/2015

I’ve added the Thumbtack listing.

Update 3/11/2015

Added new Craigslist ad and sources.

Continue reading “Denise’s Visions aka Denise Moore Photography Studio in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania” »

Hot 89.9

Originally I made this blog to out sham photographers who are beefing up their portfolios with work that is not their own to draw in clients who are none the wiser until far after the money has exchanged hands and the wedding/event has taken place.

Today I’m making an exception to this rule (we shall see if it’s a forever exception or not) because frankly I’m pissed off by the amount of businesses that have been stealing photographs lately. First it was DKNY and now, the tipping point for me, Hot 89.9. Perhaps the tipping point for me is the final email that they sent to the photographer when confronted with the theft. I found out about this via Facebook today and I’m seething.

Barbara Ann Studios, based in Ottawa, Canada happened across a pamphlet by Hot 89.9 in which they were seeking partners for their “Get Me to the Altar” contest. She happened to see that one of her images was being used on the last page and was shocked as she had never been asked for permission, nor given the file over for use.


The page of the document in question by Hot 89.9.


The image from Barbara Ann Studios blog.

Barbara emailed the company and asked how this image came to be used and why it was being used without permission. They replied stating that they used Google Image Search for images at a venue that is a sponsor and it was only used for 10 or less clients and they were sorry. Barbara replied that it doesn’t matter how many people saw it, it is the fact that it was used without permission and gave them a rate in which she typically charges for commercial use of an image. Hot 89.9 replied and scoffed at her price stating that typically they pay $40-$100 for that type of image use. Barbara replied that fee may have been okay had it of been a negotiated rate with a different photographer prior to going live with the document but after the event it is a different matter, that was not her fee for commercial use and she was hoping to settle this without having to go further.

This is the final email from Scott Broderick, which sent me over the edge.

“Barb you were kind enough to provide us with a few definitions. Here is one I just looked up:



The practice of obtaining something, esp. money through force or threats



You are obviously a very talented photographer, I would stick with that. Extortion is not your thing.



Dear corporations and businesses,

I can’t say it better than Harlan Ellison – Pay the Writer.


Everyone else may be an asshole but I’m not.

Thank you,


PS: Google Image Search is a tool to find photographs, not a free image database for stock images.

Yesterday Hot 89.9 posted their entire email exchange on Facebook which resulted in over 1,000 comments, many attacking Barbara personally. Finally after a day they have removed the post and posted its staying private, which is ironic. People are still slinging mud and many questionable Facebook accounts are participating (sorry if it was created in the past day I’m going to question it’s validity).