Karen Ortiz – Photographer aka Classy lil Heart

Web:  http://classylilheart.wix.com/classy-lil-heart?from_fb=1

Craigslist:  http://santabarbara.craigslist.org/sks/4261174614.html

Craigslist 2:  http://santabarbara.craigslist.org/evs/4261169707.html

This submission was sent to me last night but since I was in the process of moving over to the new domain I wasn’t able to make an entry.  The website is still up today and the transfer is complete so here we are!

This has been a really busy week here between the posts and the big move to stopstealingphotos.com.  All of the images on the website are stock but I’m going to post it all here because the disclaimer on the about page is hilarious.  I’m not listing the proof of the stock images because quite frankly I’m a bit burned out from this week but I’ve been flooded with people about this girl so I’m listing her here since some of the Craigslist pictures are not stock.  I am thinking some of the collage images aren’t either but again, bit burned out.


Home Page on Website:


Screen Shot 2014-02-02 at 11.50.08 AM


Original source unknown

Screen Shot 2014-02-02 at 11.52.06 AM




Screen Shot 2014-02-02 at 11.54.57 AM

The text reads,

“Welcome to Classy Lil Heart Photography Site. I do my best to capture all the moments that one would want to look back on over the years. I am passionate about photography do special events, weddings and family portraits. I will have discounts throughout the year for my loyal clients who simply love all the kodak moments I capture!

Capturing the pictures to cherish forever is my specialty. Life is to short not to take moments that count. All your photos will be available on a disc for clients to print as they wish. If you rather your photographs saved on a memory stick than on a cd disc. it is an option. To find out prices please contact me by phone or e-mail.

******READ FIRST*******





Note that the “disclaimer” is somewhat buried and it doesn’t protect her from a lawsuit as most clients wouldn’t really even go there.  This is the only place where the disclaimer lies.


Screen Shot 2014-02-02 at 12.00.21 PM



Covering Cities

Screen Shot 2014-02-02 at 12.19.48 PM


Types of Events



Screen Shot 2014-02-02 at 12.13.25 PM




Screen Shot 2014-02-02 at 12.25.13 PM


Video on the left is a compilation of movie scenes.

Video on the right source

Screen Shot 2014-02-02 at 12.26.12 PM


Classy Shots

Screen Shot 2014-02-02 at 12.34.37 PM

Craigslist Ad #1

Screen Shot 2014-02-02 at 12.05.03 PM




Original source for text


Screen Shot 2014-02-02 at 12.11.27 PM




Original source for opening image

Screen Shot 2014-02-02 at 12.37.10 PM


Screen Shot 2014-02-02 at 12.41.25 PM

Original source for girl in hat

Screen Shot 2014-02-02 at 12.39.20 PM



Screen Shot 2014-02-02 at 12.41.33 PM

Original source for the b&w couple

Screen Shot 2014-02-02 at 12.40.19 PM



Craigslist Ad #2

Screen Shot 2014-02-02 at 12.10.09 PM


Original source for text

Screen Shot 2014-02-02 at 12.11.27 PM


  • CrackerJacker

    That first Craigslist ad… I can’t even! Standard 1 photographer includes two perspectives? How does she manage that? PaparazziStyle Trademark ™??? Plus she includes the copyrights?

    And all for a price that ranges wildly between $30 to $60 an hour (and the “Complete full Day 2 Photographer Coverage” isn’t even the most expensive per hour). So much wrong…

  • Photomedic

    waaaaaiitttt,,,,Certified master photographers….and they don’t even have their OWN pictures to use in their portfolio? WTF is a certified master photographer anyway? And why would a “master” need to steal photos?

  • Love the new site!!! (loved the old site too, but new one is better).

    This lady is a mental case. How can you make an entire site of Stock images and not one of them is hers, and expect to get away with it all from a silly little disclaimer. Is there not some kind of False Advertising law / protection in the US? I am pretty sure the UK has laws against that.

  • Karel

    Well… At least she was “honest” about that it weren’t her pictures *LOL*

    I’ll get me coat now.

  • Michelle

    I also came across this earlier today while having fun doing my own little investigating.
    This link to another Craigs Listing: http://santabarbara.craigslist.org/evs/4261123710.html

    Along with the original source:

    I sent Brea McDonald and email, letting her know.

    • Michael Goolsby

      Thankfully, the ad is gone. I hope that Brea McDonald recovers some sort of the restitution for the theft.

      Creative theft is one of the worst thefts of all.

  • imafiftiesgirl

    And her spelling and grammar — atrocious! How this person gets any business is beyond me.

    • Marc W.

      They don’t! That’s why they have to “borrow” photos.

  • Michael Goolsby

    This is absolutely horrendous. The disclaimer does not mitigate the ethical or legal liability. At casual glance, the only photograph that may actually be her own is the one of her, which is wildly inferior to all the others.

    This website is designed to do one thing: ROB CUSTOMERS OF THEIR MONEY.

    Yet another newbie-mom-with-a-camera who should (if it were only possible) be BANNED from professional photography.

    • Joseph Philbert

      International Ban list 🙂

  • rickyserrano

    I received an email from a bride telling this person was using my photos on her craiglist post which is now gone. its just ridiculous but hey in a way makes you feel good that your photos are that good to get other people to book.

    • Joseph Philbert

      Its a double edge sword.

  • Joseph Philbert

    She has started to remove the CL ads

  • Sam

    Yeah, the CL ads are no longer.

    For now.

    • Sam

      Also – perhaps there should be an “International Ban List” with a link to each of the ‘blog posts’, here, so that people can glance at ALL the names, and read on them if they want. Just a thought.

  • Even some of the images in the gallery still have the original photog’s copyright on them… LOL

    • Joseph Philbert

      I am surprised the Wix site is still up.

  • Michael Goolsby

    Has anyone noticed that her website has undergone some minor updates?

    First, her self-portrait is gone. Funny, since this was the only photo, I believe, that WAS her own property.

    Second, her disclaimer has changed. She now says that these photos are property of Wix, suggesting that they are all temporary photos already there. The problem is, Wix doesn’t have a template that features most of these photos. The template she used featured high fashion. A few of the original Wix fashion placeholder photos remain, but the vast majority (and especially the wedding pics) were obviously replaced by her directly.

  • nikki

    I personally know Karen and feel horrible for anybody that has come in contact with her. Or that has been tortured by her horrific site. I knew that she had been lying about all of the photos. It is a shame that people have to steal from others to get what they want or need. She has been this way for years from what I have been told.